What happened to spring?

Standard

OK so last week was so beautiful it really felt like spring was on its way. I had even pulled out some more of my stash of fabric to make up into summer frocks. I have been stitching away and of course now they are done we are back to scraping ice off the car in the morning and have snow showers forecast for the weekend. So I thought that before I have to put them away to the back of my wardrobe until we do get some decent weather I would let you see what I have been doing.

My first make is this fab dress using Newlook 6803- I am especially loving that all Newlook patterns are reduced to less than half price until March 9th.

image

i have used some really fine cotton that I bought in India and it falls really well.

image

I also like the little pleated detail on the neckline.

image

Next I ran up a skirt from Newlook 6843.

image

I used some fairly cheap fabric for this as it is the first time I have made it up. I have some other material in mind for it now that I know it fits and hangs nicely. I especially liked this pattern, it advertised itself as easy, 1 hour sewing time. I am usually very sceptical about claims like this, however to my shock I did actually manage to complete the skirt in an hour as I did cheat and machine the hem where I would often hand stitch mine. If you need a new skirt in a hurry I would definately recommend this pattern.

image

As always Ethel my model is making a far better job of modelling them than I ever could. Now all I need is some warmer weather so that I can start wearing them. I am planning to wear leggings with the skirt as it a bit shorter than I would normally wear.

Whatever you are up to, happy crafting x

Leave a comment